Photos of Places in the Province of Campobasso

Province of Campobasso
The Province of Campobasso is divided into 84 Municipalities and has a low population density. The present territory of the Province was not the same as in past centuries.

After the unity of Italy, in 1861, the borders of the whole Molise region were fixed along the Fortore and Volturno rivers and the region was united to Abruzzo for about a century. In December 1964 a constitutional law established Molise as an independent region with one Province, and capital Campobasso. On 2 February 1970 52 municipalities of this Province were separated and a new Province, Isernia, was established.

More info on the Province of Campobasso