Province of Belluno, Veneto

The province is very large and almost all mountainous, with different areas called Cadore, Feltrino, Alpago, Val di Zoldo dell'Agordino, Comelico and Ampezzano.


  • Area: 3,678 km²
  • Population: about 320,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal codes: 32100, 32010-32047
  • Phone Area Codes: 0435, 0436, 0437, 0439
  • Car Plate: BL
  • Communes: 69 communes
  • Official website: www.provincia.belluno.it

The Territory

The Province includes all the eastern side of the imposing Dolomite group, with celebrated summits as the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, Monte Pelmo, Monte Civetta, Marmolada and Pale di San Martino. The southern part of the province is occupied by the Valbelluna, where the capital Belluno is situated, which is part of the Parco Nazionale delle Dolomiti. In many of the Dolomite areas there is a strong Ladin community.

The Economy

This is one of the 15 most advanced provinces in Italy, with a flourishing technological sector featuring world-level industries in glasses, as Luxottica and Safilo, appliances as Zanussi, tiles and bathroom decoration as Ideal Standard or Ceramica Dolomite. Another remarkable sector is mountain tourism, with renowned resorts as Cortina d'Ampezzo, Alleghe, Auronzo di Cadore, Falcade, Arabba, Sappada, the Nevegàl area.

The Comuni in the Province

Agordo | Alano di Piave | Alleghe | Arsiè | Auronzo di Cadore | Belluno | Borca di Cadore | Calalzo di Cadore | Canale d'Agordo | Castello Lavazzo | Cencenighe Agordino | Cesiomaggiore | Chies d'Alpago | Cibiana di Cadore | Colle Santa Lucia | Comelico Superiore | Cortina d'Ampezzo | Danta di Cadore | Domegge di Cadore | Falcade | Farra d'Alpago | Feltre | Fonzaso | Gosaldo | La Valle Agordina | Lamon | Lentiai | Limana | Livinallongo del Col di Lana | Longarone | Lorenzago di Cadore | Lozzo di Cadore | Mel | Ospitale di Cadore | Pedavena | Perarolo Di Cadore | Pieve d'Alpago | Pieve di Cadore | Ponte nelle Alpi | Puos d'Alpago | Quero | Rivamonte Agordino | Rocca Pietore | San Gregorio nelle Alpi | San Nicolo di Comelico | San Pietro di Cadore | San Tomaso Agordino | San Vito di Cadore | Santa Giustina | Santo Stefano di Cadore | Sappada | Sedico | Selva di Cadore | Seren del Grappa | Sospirolo | Soverzene | Sovramonte | Taibon Agordino | Tambre | Trichiana | Vallada Agordina | Val di Zoldo (merging of Forno di Zoldo and Zoldo Alto) | Valle di Cadore | Vas | Vigo di Cadore | Vodo Cadore | Voltago Agordino | Zoppe di Cadore.

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Veneto
Veneto region
Surnames in the Provinces of Veneto