Province of Siena, Toscana

The province corresponds to the former republic of Siena, which included the present province of Grosseto and maintained its independence from 1100 until 1559, when it came under the Grand Duchy of Tuscany. Apart from the province capital Siena, the main towns are Poggibonsi, Colle di Val d'Elsa, San Gimignano and Montepulciano. The economy is based on agriculture, mainly wheat, grapes and fruit, and the production of Chianti wine and silk.


  • Area: 3,821 km²
  • Population: about 270,000 inhabitants
  • Population Density: 70 per sq km
  • Zip/postal codes: 53100, 53011-53049
  • Phone Area Codes: 0577, 0578
  • Car Plate: SI
  • Communes: 36 communes
  • Official website: http://www.provincia.siena.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Grosseto.

The Comuni in the Province

Abbadia San Salvatore | Asciano | Buonconvento | Casole d'Elsa | Castellina in Chianti | Castelnuovo Berardenga | Castiglione d'Orcia | Cetona | Chianciano Terme | Chiusdino | Chiusi | Colle di Val d'Elsa | Gaiole in Chianti | Montalcino | Montepulciano | Monteriggioni | Monteroni d'Arbia | Monticiano | Murlo | Piancastagnaio | Pienza | Poggibonsi | Radda in Chianti | Radicofani | Radicondoli | Rapolano Terme | San Casciano dei Bagni | San Gimignano | San Giovanni d'Asso | San Quirico d'Orcia | Sarteano | SIENA | Sinalunga | Sovicille | Torrita di Siena | Trequanda

The Territory

The territory is hilly: in the north is Monte del Chianti; Monte Amiata is the highest point at 1738 m, and in the south is Monte Cetona. To the west are the Metallic Hills, while the Val di Chiana lies to east.
    The province is divided into seven historically and geographically homogeneous areas:
  • The Upper Val d'Elsa with San Gimignano;
  • The Chianti region, a famous hilly area of vine cultivation;
  • The urban area of Monteriggioni and Siena;
  • The Val di Merse, which occupies the basin of the Merse river;
  • The Crete Senesi, area of gullies and sparsely cultivated areas, mostly with sunflower fields;
  • The Senese Val di Chiana, formed by the Canale Maestro della Chiana, an emissary of Lake Chiusi;
  • The Val d'Orcia and Amiata, near the Umbrian border, of great environmental interest.

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Tuscany
Toscana region
Surnames in the Provinces of Toscana