Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany
Info
- Altitude: m a.s.l
- Population: about inhabitants
- Zip/postal code:
- Dialing Area Code: +39
- Patron Saint:
Demographics - Number of Inhabitants in Census Years
History
In the Middle Ages the town had considerable importance thanks to its parish which was the only building in Garfagnana where baptism could be administered. In the early 15th century a Franciscan preacher, the Blessed from Piegaro, was authorized by Pope Eugene IV to found two Franciscan convents in Garfagnana, one near Barga and another in Pieve Fosciana. Surrounded by an aura of sanctity, Ercolano died in 1451 in the convent of San Francesco "ai Frati", and his relics are still preserved in the church of Pieve.
Between the 12th and 15th centuries Pieve Fosciana was annexed to the Estensi Duchy of Modena, and remained so until the Napoleonic invasion. In 1814 it returned to the Este family until its annexation to the Kingdom of Italy in 1861. However, already in 1831 the tricolor flag was displayed in the town, the first time in Tuscany. At the end of the Second World War, Pieve Fosciana was in the immediate rear of the Gothic Line, suffering artillery and air bombings for seven months, until on April 20, 1945 was finally freed.
What to see
- The parish church of San Giovanni Battista, founded according to legend by Duchess Matilde of Tuscany. The original building is mentioned in a document of 764, and preserves the stone immersion baptismal font from that period.
- About 300 meters from the town center is Lake Prà di Lama
Genealogy & Links
Search Italyheritage
Italian Genealogy Index:
Surnames Divided by Region
Info on Italian Regions


