Province of Grosseto, Toscana

The Province includes the larger part of the Natural Park of the Maremma, traditionally populated by the butteri, cattle-breeders who used horses until recently, with a distinctive style of saddle.
Once unhealthy because of the many marshes, Maremma was drained during the fascist regime and re-populated with people coming from other Italian regions, notably from Veneto. Today the area is provided with significant natural and environmental resources, where ancient traditions have survived and Tuscan culture is preserved. According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Siena.


  • Area: 4,504 km²
  • Population: about 220,000 inhabitants
  • Population Density: 50 per sq km
  • Zip/postal codes: 58100, 58010-58055
  • Phone Area Codes: 0564, 0566
  • Car Plate: GR
  • Communes: 28 communes
  • Official website: http://www.provincia.grosseto.it/

The "Comuni" in the Province of Grosseto

toscana Alberese (a frazione of Grosseto) | Arcidosso | Campagnatico | Capalbio | Castel del Piano | Castell'Azzara | Castiglione della Pescaia | Cinigiano | Civitella Paganico | Follonica | Gavorrano | Grosseto | Isola del Giglio | Magliano in Toscana | Manciano | Massa Marittima | Monte Argentario | Monterotondo Marittimo | Montieri | Orbetello | Pitigliano | Roccalbegna | Roccastrada | Santa Fiora | Scansano | Scarlino | Seggiano | Semproniano | Sorano

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Tuscany
Toscana region
Surnames in the Provinces of Toscana