Province of Foggia, Puglia

The Province of Foggia is the second largest in Italy, and includes a varied and rich territory of plateaus, lakes, cliffs and bays.
There are also vast areas of intensive agriculture, in previous centuries largely used as pastures for the flocks coming in the winter months from Abruzzi, Molise, Irpinia and Lucania. Today it is also a place of pilgrimage due to the presence of the sanctuary of San Pio da Pietrelcina (Padre Pio) in San Giovanni Rotondo.


  • Area: 6.965 km²
  • Population: about 680,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal codes: 71121-71122, 71010-71049
  • Phone Area Codes: 0881, 0882, 0884, 0885
  • Car Plate: FG
  • Communes: 61 communes -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province will also include the Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani.

The Comuni in the Province

Accadia | Alberona | Anzano di Puglia | Apricena | Ascoli Satriano | Biccari | Bovino | Cagnano Varano | Candela | Carapelle | Carlantino | Carpino | Casalnuovo Monterotaro | Casalvecchio di Puglia | Castelluccio dei Sauri | Castelluccio Valmaggiore | Castelnuovo della Daunia | Celenza Valfortore | Celle di San Vito | Cerignola | Chieuti | Deliceto | Faeto | Foggia | Ischitella | Isole Tremiti | Lesina | Lucera | Manfredonia | Mattinata | Monte Sant'Angelo | Monteleone di Puglia | Motta Montecorvino | Ordona | Orsara di Puglia | Orta Nova | Panni | Peschici | Pietramontecorvino | Poggio Imperiale | Rignano Garganico | Rocchetta Sant'Antonio | Rodi Garganico | Roseto Valfortore | San Giovanni Rotondo | San Marco in Lamis | San Marco La Catola | San Paolo di Civitate | San Severo | Sannicandro Garganico | Sant'Agata di Puglia | Serracapriola | Stornara | Stornarella | Torremaggiore | Troia | Vico del Gargano | Vieste | Volturara Appula | Volturino | Zapponeta

What to see

  • Among the main points of interest is the Parco nazionale del Gargano, established in 1995, a peninsula partly mountainous and partly covered by the remains of an ancient forest, Foresta Umbra, the only remaining part in Italy of the ancient oak and beech forest that once covered much of Central Europe.
  • In the north are two major salty lakes, Lesina and Varano; the coastline is a sequel of greatly spectacular bays and cliffs, a paradise for summer tourism.
  • Monte Gargano is also the site of the oldest shrine in Western Europe dedicated to the archangel Michael, Monte Sant'Angelo sul Gargano.
  • Another area of great beauty is the picturesque Tremiti island group.

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Puglia
Puglia region
Surnames in the Provinces of Puglia