Province of Fermo, Region Marche

The Province of Fermo was the last to be established in Marche, with Law 147 issued on 11 June 2004, and is to be fully functional starting from the administrative elections in 2009.

It includes 40 communes previously belonging to the province of Ascoli Piceno, mostly small to medium sized centres in the hilly hinterland, the only communes with seacoast being Porto Sant'Elpidio, Porto San Giorgio, Fermo, Pedaso, Altidona and Campofilone. The most populous communes are the province capital with 37,000 inhabitants, Porto Sant'Elpidio with 24,000 and Porto San Giorgio with 16,000.


  • Area: 784 km²
  • Population: about 170,000 inhabitants
  • Car Plate: FM
  • Communes: 40 communes
  • Official website: http://www.provincia.fermo.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Provinces of Macerata and Ascoli Piceno.

The Comuni in the Province

Altidona | Amandola | Belmonte Piceno | Campofilone | Falerone | Fermo | Francavilla d'Ete | Grottazzolina | Lapedona | Magliano di Tenna | Massa Fermana | Monsampietro Morico | Montappone | Montefalcone Appennino | Montefortino | Monte Giberto | Montegiorgio | Montegranaro | Monteleone di Fermo | Montelparo | Monte Rinaldo | Monte San Pietrangeli | Monte Urano | Monte Vidon Combatte | Monte Vidon Corrado | Monterubbiano | Montottone | Moresco | Ortezzano | Pedaso | Petritoli | Ponzano di Fermo | Porto San Giorgio | Porto Sant'Elpidio | Rapagnano | Santa Vittoria in Matenano | Sant'Elpidio a Mare | Servigliano | Smerillo | Torre San Patrizio

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Marche
Marche region
Surnames in the Provinces of Marche