Brescia, Province of Brescia, Lombardia

Brescia is the second largest city in Lombardy after Milan, and the administrative capital of the Province of Brescia. The ancient city of Brixia, Brescia has been an important regional centre since pre-Roman times and a number of Roman and medieval monuments are preserved, among which the castle.

The city is at the centre of the third-largest Italian industrial area, concentrating on mechanical and automotive engineering and machine tools. Its companies are typically small or medium-sized enterprises, often with family managements. The financial sector is also a major employer, and the tourist industry is important as well, given the proximity of Lake Garda, Lake Iseo and the Alps.


  • Altitude: 149 m a.s.l
  • Population: about 194,000 inhabitants in 2012
  • Zip/postal code: 25100
  • Dialing Area Code: +39 030
  • Patron Saint: Saints Faustino and Giovita, celebrated on 15 February; Sant'Angela Merici on 27 January.

Administrative divisions

Brescia is divided into the following quarters and localities (Frazioni): Bettole, Borgo Trento, Buffalora, Caionvico, Campo Fiera, Carmine, Casazza, Chiesanuova, Costalunga, Fiumicello, Folzano, Fornaci, Mandolossa, Mompiano, Pendolina, Porta Cremona, Porta Milano, Porta Venezia, Quartiere Don Bosco, Quartiere Primo Maggio, Ronchi, San Bartolomeo, San Gottardo, San Polo, San Rocchino, Sant’Anna, Sant'Eufemia della Fonte, Sant’Eustacchio, Stocchetta, Urago Mella, Verziano, Villaggio Badia, Villaggio Ferrari, Villaggio Montini, Villagio Prealpino, Villaggio Sereno, Villaggio Violino
ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Lombardy
Lombardia region
Surnames in the Provinces of Lombardy