Province of Latina, Lazio

The Province of Latina was established in 1935 after the recovery of the marshy lands of the Agro pontino, with municipalities previously mainly belonging to the Province of Rome. According to an administrative reform, from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Frosinone.
At the same time, also the Circeo National Park was established, which includes today the Terracina Forest (the only plain forest left in Italy), the Circeo Promontory - which takes its name from the mythical sorceress that kept Ulysses and his companions prisoners, the lakes Paola, Caprolace, Monaci and Fogliano, the coastline Dunes, the island of Zannone with the ruins of a Benediscine monastery.


  • Area: 2,251 km²
  • Population: about 500,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal codes: 04010-04100
  • Phone Area Codes: 0773, 06, 0771
  • Car Plate: LT
  • Communes: 33 communes
  • Official website: www.provincia.latina.it

The Comuni in the Province

Aprilia | Bassiano | Campodimele | Castelforte | Cisterna di Latina | Cori | Fondi | Formia | Gaeta | Itri | Latina | Lenola | Maenza | Minturno | Monte San Biagio | Norma | Pontinia | Ponza | Priverno | Prossedi | Rocca Massima | Roccagorga | Roccasecca dei Volsci | Sabaudia | San Felice Circeo | Santi Cosma e Damiano | Sermoneta | Sezze | Sonnino | Sperlonga | Spigno Saturnia | Terracina | Ventotene

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Lazio
Lazio region
Surnames in the Provinces of Lazio