Province of Crotone, Calabria

The area saw in antiquity very early Greek settlements; ancient Kroton, the present province capital, was the hometown of Pitagoras, Milo, Alcmeon. According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Catanzaro.


  • Area: 1,717 km²
  • Population: about 175,000 inhabitants in 2017
  • Zip/postal codes: 88900; 888--
  • Phone Area Codes: 0962, 0984
  • Car Plate: KR
  • Communes: 27 communes.

The Territory

The territory of the province of Crotone is included between the Sila mountains to the west and the Ionian Sea to the east In the early 20th century the province had a remarkable industrial development, and though most of the chemical plants of those days were closed, the car industry is still growing. The main resources however are in the tourist sector and in agricultural production, especially of wine and wheat.

The Comuni in the Province

Belvedere di Spinello | Caccuri | Carfizzi | Casabona | Castelsilano | Ciro | Cirò Marina | Cotronei | Crotone | Crucoli | Cutro | Isola di Capo Rizzuto | Melissa | Mesoraca | Pallagorio | Petilia Policastro | Rocca di Neto | Roccabernarda | San Mauro Marchesato | San Nicola dell'Alto | Santa Severina | Savelli | Scandale | Strongoli | Umbriatico | Verzino.

Where to stay

Useful Links

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Calabria
Calabria region
Surnames in the Provinces of Calabria