Situated on a rocky spur overlooking the valley of the Rio Secco, the place is famous for its impressive medieval castle, and offers a breathtaking view of Lake Bomba to the west and the Sangro Valley towards the Adriatic Sea.
Altitude: 455 m a.s.l
-- Distance from Chieti: 51 km
-- Population: ca. 1300 inhabitants in 2011
-- Zip code: 66040
-- Phone Area Code: 0872
-- Frazioni: Aia di Rocco, Articciaro, Capriglia, Collebuono, Colle Grande, Fontacciaro, Solagne
-- How to reach it: motorway: A14 exit Lanciano -- road: SS 81 from Chieti or SS 84 from Lanciano
Of medieval origin, the village was colonized in the 8th century by Benedictine monks who founded the abbey of San Pancrazio. The Normans built the castle to defend the valley; in the 15th century it became a fief of Raimondo de Anichino. It belonged later to the Gualtieri, the Orsini, the Carafa, the Corvi and finally to the Croce-Nanni family.
Points of Interest
- The ruins of the impressive fortress
- Church of St. Pancrazio, extant from the 13th-century abbey of the same name
Events & Festivities
- 26 to 27 September: Feast of Saints Cosmas and Damian, with the traditional costume parade of "Conche and Conocchia" - the conche are the typical Abruzzese copper pots used by women in the past to take water from the fountains, while the conocchia is a wooden tool used for spinning.
- October 15: Feast of grapes harvest and local food with parade of waggons.
Hotels, Lodging, Restaurants
Genealogy, News & Links